The State of Movies

Bonjour Reader,

How is your day going so far??I have had a unremarkable day so far. Hope You are having a great day.

Now today’s  post is going to be kind of a rant. Forgive me if it is too distasteful .

This has been something I have been trying to get out of my system for a while .I have tried talking about this to other people , but being the awkward person I am , I had a hard time making others understand it.So I decided to turn to my ‘blog’.

Before I begin , You have to understand that , Most of the things  that I am going to write about are about movies in India ; which is , If you read my first blog , where I come from. So , this does not apply to all movies. But some of the things I am going to write about can also apply to hollywood.

Now, I am not an avid movie-goer , but I have watched my share of movies. So , I ‘know’ movies.

1. The first thing that I hate about movies these days is that most of them ‘glorify’ violence. Some movies don’t even have a story or anything of that sort. And there are some which have an inkling of a story , but when they fail to tie all the loose ends together , We get an Action Scene. Now why is this so??

There are some movies which give paltry excuses just to show their lead actors fighting of hordes of evil-doers.

Not only is this bad entertainment , But this has a really bad influence on youngsters. What better way to prove that you are superior , than by fighting with someone weaker than you..

Yes , Action sequences are exciting to watch , and they show how ‘Badass’ the lead character is. But that is no reason to throw one every few minutes at an audience .

What happened to good story-telling? what happened to believable characters? This is something that would have to change..

2. The failure of the entertainment industry as an whole at portraying 50% of the world. Yup, I am talking about the lack of movies , which have women in lead roles.

Seriously , Why don’t we ever have women being protagonists in movies. Most of the time , Women play very small stereotypical roles  . Most of the actresses play as  the love-interests of the lead actor. This far into the 21st century and we still have a severe shortage of movies with women playing lead roles.

This is something else that has to change.

3. Lack of Originality

Tell me the last movie you saw.

If it is not a movie featuring superheroes , monsters , ghosts , cars , robots or if it does not take place in space /a fantasy world ; You , my friend earn a cookie..

If a movie does fall into above ‘criteria’, It does not mean that it automatically falls into the bad movie category.  ‘The Martian’  was a pretty good movie and It was set in space.

Its just that The above criteria are overused . How many times are we going to watch a movie where superheroes fend off supervillains?? How many times do we want to watch Cars  turn into Robots??

Now , these sort of movies are pretty to look at .But that is all they are , Peel away all the extravagant special effects and all it has, is an empty husk of a story.

This is something else that has to change.
I know this post was a bit all over the place , but I hope you understood , What I was trying to tell you.

As always , Thank you for your patience , Reader. And Hopefully I meet you in my next post.

Yours sincerely,

themuser2017

2 thoughts on “The State of Movies

Leave a Reply

